Daily Archives: March 31, 2009

Baxter Black, DVM: THE HOPPING HORSE

Baxter Black, DVM:  THE HOPPING HORSE

“How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.” E.B. Browning, 1857

“How can you get bucked off? Let me count the ways.” B. Black, 2009

Full Story

Grass cattle economics

Grass cattle economics

Dillon M. Feuz

Tri State Livestock News

I am tired of reading about and writing about the economic mess we are in with the general economy. So, I will not mention it again in this article. At my house in the last week, I have seen a sunny day with temperatures in the 70’s and a cold, windy, snowy day with temperatures in the low 30’s. Those days were back-to-back. That tells me one thing; it must be spring. I checked on the south side of the house and the tool shed, and sure enough there is green grass appearing there.

Full Story

Black Ink: Get with the times

Black Ink:  Get with the times

Miranda Reiman

It’s the 1970s. An air-dried Polaroid shows your leisure suit and platform shoes, just before you hop into your pickup and check the CB for friends talking skip.

Full Story

Dyar Recognized by Alabama BCIA

Dyar Recognized by Alabama BCIA

Cattle Today

Montgomery, Ala. – The Alabama Beef Cattle Improvement Association (BCIA) recently honored Richard Dyar as the 2008 Richard Deese Award recipient during their Annual Meeting and Awards Program held in conjunction with the 66th Annual Alabama Cattlemen’s Association Annual Meeting in Montgomery on February 14.

Full Story

Diversification key to stable farming operation

Diversification key to stable farming operation

GINA KINSLOW

Kenneth Sartin considers himself to be lucky.

He hasn’t been laid off and has a pretty good idea where he’ll get his next meal. Sartin has been a farmer all of his life. He is his own boss.

“I get up in the morning and nobody’s standing over me with a gun telling me what I gotta do,”he said. “I do what I want and I like what I do.”

Full Story

Farmers get grants to diversify farms

Farmers get grants to diversify farms

John Boyle

Asheville Citizen Times

Nearly 50 mountain farmers have received funding totaling $225,000 to help them diversify and remain viable.

Western North Carolina Agricultural Options disbursed the grants, which are for $3,000, $6,000 or $9,000.

 “It is exciting to see the wide variety of innovative ideas that have been awarded to farmers in Western North Carolina,” William Upchurch, executive director of the N.C. Tobacco Trust Fund Commission, said in a press release. “These great projects can meet the demand and desire for local products by consumers, and this program will continue to help these family farms stay in business.”

Full Story

Fish Oil Could Curb Cow Flatulence

Fish Oil Could Curb Cow Flatulence

Foxnews

Cows break wind a lot, and their flatulence fills the air with methane, a potent greenhouse gas.

In fact, the EPA estimates that roughly 28 percent of all methane emissions related to human activity come from methane-producing bacteria in the rumens of domestic cattle, sheep and goats and other livestock known as ruminants, which eat plants that are mostly indigestible by other creatures.

Full Story